• User Name
  • Password
  • Remember Me
16 Sep 2014, 14:58 HRS IST
Samajwadi Party has won Thakurdwara Assembly seat in Moradabad districtGujarat bypolls: BJP wins four assembly seats; Congress twoBJP wrests Basirhat Dakshin Assembly seat while Trinamool Congress retains Chowringhee seat in WB.CM's brother wins Sikkim Assembly seat as IndependentDelhi High Court dismisses a PIL seeking CBI probe into alleged business dealings done by Robert Vadra's firmsCongress candidate wins Nasirabad seat in RajasthanRuling TDP wins Nandigama Assembly bypoll in APCPI(M) wins Tripura Assembly bypollSensex recovers 44 points in early tradeRupee up 11 paise against dollar in early tradeJammu-Srinagar National Highway reopens for traffic after 13 days
  • PTI
Rescue workers spot 13 bodies in flood-hit Jawahar Nagar area of Srinagar; four bodies taken out so far.
About PTI
Press Trust of India (PTI) is India’s premier news agency, having a reach as vast as the Indian Railways. It employs more than 400 journalists and 500 stringers to cover almost every district and small town in India. Collectively, they put out more than 2,000 stories and 200 photographs a day to feed the expansive appetite of the diverse subscribers, who include the mainstream media, the specialised presses, research groups, companies, and government and non-governmental organisations.

PTI correspondents are also based in leading capitals and important business and administrative centres around the world. It also has exchange arrangements with several foreign news agencies to magnify its global news footprint.

Currently, PTI commands 90 per cent of new agency market share in India.

PTI was registered in 1947 and started functioning in 1949. Today, after 62 years of its service, PTI can well and truly take pride in the legacy of its work, and in its contribution towards the building of a free and fair Press in India.On its golden junilee in 1999, President K R Narayanan said:"We got independence in August 1947.But independence in news and information we got only with the establishment of PTI in 1949.That is the significance of PTI..."

 PTI Golden Jubilee video 1949-1999

Administrative & Managerial Composition
PTI is run by a Board of Directors with the Chairmanship going by rotation at the Annual General Meeting. The day-to-day administration and management of PTI is headed by the Chief Executive Officer (who is also the Editor-in-Chief).

The Board of Directors
Mr K N Shanth Kumar Chairman (The Printers,Mysore)
Mr Mahendra Mohan Gupta Vice Chairman (The Jagran)
Mr R Lakshmipathy Dinamalar
Mr Vineet JainBennett, Coleman & Co Ltd
Mr M P Veerendra KumarMathrubhumi
Mr Sanjoy NarayanHindustan Times
Mr N RaviThe Hindu
Mr Riyad MathewMalayala Manorama
Mr Aveek Kumar SarkarAnanda Bazar Patrika
Mr Viveck GoenkaIndian Express (Additional Director)
Mr Hormusji N CamaBombay Samachar
Mr Vijay Kumar ChopraHind Samachar
Mr S P BharuchaFormer Chief Justice of India
Mr Fali S NarimanLegal Luminary
Prof E V ChitnisScientist
The Senior Management Team
Mr MK RazdanEditor-in-Chief & CEO
Mr M Shakeel Ahmed General Manager (Administration)
Mr VS ChandrasekarExecutive Editor
Mr V Mohan Narayan Editor
Mr G Sudhakar Nair Editor
Mr Subhash C MalhotraSenior Editor-Photo
Ms Padma AlvaChief Administrative Officer
Mr Subodh GuptaGeneral Manager (Finance)
Mr Tridib BordoloiChief Engineer