• User Name
  • Password
  • Remember Me
20 Apr 2018, 06:49 HRS IST
  • PTI
  • Prez poll: Voting in Raj assembly ends

  • Advertisement
  •  Share
  • Print Print
  •  E-mail
  • Comments Comment
  • [ - ] Text [ + ]
15:39 HRS IST

Jaipur, Jul 17 (PTI) Voting to elect the next President of India concluded in the Rajasthan Assembly today, with 199 legislators out of 200 exercising their franchise.

Former Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot cast his vote in Gujarat.

Polling for presidential elections commenced at 10 am and concluded at 2.15 pm with all 199 legislators exercising their franchise, an assembly spokesperson said.

The Rajasthan Assembly has 200 MLAs. BJP has 161 MLAs, Congress 24, four of NPP, two each of Zamindara Party and BSP, and seven independent.

The NDA has fielded former Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind for the top constitutional post, while former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar is the candidate of the joint opposition.

Counting of votes will take place on July 20 in New Delhi where all the ballot boxes will be brought from various state capitals.

The tenure of incumbent Pranab Mukherjee ends on July 24.

  • Post your comments