• User Name
  • Password
  • Remember Me
20 Apr 2018, 08:35 HRS IST
  • PTI
  • Sacked TMC MLAs, rebel Cong legislator vote for Kovind

  • Advertisement
  •  Share
  • Print Print
  •  E-mail
  • Comments Comment
  • [ - ] Text [ + ]
17:35 HRS IST

Agartala, July 17 (PTI) Six sacked MLAs of Trinamool Congress (TMC) and one opposition Congress MLA out of the total 60 in Tripura assembly today voted for NDA s presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind.

We six MLAs have cast our votes in favour of Ramnath Kovind.

We had announced it earlier itself because we cannot vote for a candidate who was supported by CPI-M," Sudip Burman, leader of the group of sacked TMC MLAs told reporters.

Burman and five other MLAs were sacked from TMC after they had openly announced their support for Kovind.

Rebel Congress MLA Ratan Lal Nath, who too had earlier announced that he would vote for the NDA candidate, told newsmen that he had voted for Kovind.

Additional Chief Electoral Officer Debasish Modak said Speaker Ramendra Chandra Debnath cast his vote in West Bengal assembly as he is in Kolkata for treatment, while the two Lok Sabha members from the state and its lone Rajya Sabha member voted in the Parliament in Delhi.

Fifty MLAs of the ruling Left Front including Chief Minister Manik Sarkar, Finance Minister Bhanu Lal Saha and Health Minister Badal Chowdhury cast their votes in the state assembly.

Two other Congress MLAs - Birajit Sinha and Gopal Roy also exercised their franchise here.

  • Post your comments