South African Customs Union emerges as key trade partner for India: Report

Updated: Nov 8 2022 7:03PM

Johannesburg, Nov 8 (PTI) A Preferential Trade Agreement (PTA) between India and the South African Customs Union countries will enhance future partnerships as the region has emerged as an important partner for India, both as an export destination and an import source, according to a report from the India Exim Bank.

South African Customs Union (SACU) is a customs union among five southern African countries - Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia, and South Africa. Established in 1910, SACU is the world's oldest customs union.

These countries are also part of the Southern African Development Community (SADC), together with Angola, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Malawi, Mozambique, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe; as well as the island nations of Mauritius, Seychelles, Comoros, and Madagascar.