Four diplomats, US lawmaker honoured with 2022 'Diwali- Power of One’ award at UN

Updated: Dec 6 2022 11:48AM

United Nations, Dec 6 (PTI) Four veteran diplomats and a US lawmaker have been honoured with this year's annual 'Diwali- Power of One’ award here for their efforts in working towards a peaceful and secure world.

Hailed as the ‘Oscars of Diplomacy’, the award is presented to former Permanent Representatives or former High-Level members of the UN Secretariat or member state, or soon-to-be “former”, who have “toiled selflessly to help form a more perfect, peaceful and secure world for all." Former Permanent Representative of Georgia to the UN and current Ambassador to Canada Kaha Imnadze, and former Permanent Representative of Grenada to the United Nations Keisha McGuire were among those who were honoured on Monday.

The other three who were awarded were former Interim Defence Minister and Permanent Representative of Bulgaria to the UN and current Ambassador to the US Georgi Velikov Panayotov, former Permanent Representative of Benin to the UN and now Ambassador to the US Jean-Claude do Rego and former Chairman, Foreign Affairs Committee of the US House of Representatives Eliot Lance Engel.