Nepali Congress maintains lead in parliamentary polls; NC candidate from Syangja constituency wins

Updated: Dec 4 2022 9:38PM

Kathmandu, Dec 4 (PTI) Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba's Nepali Congress-led ruling coalition on Sunday maintained its lead in Nepal's parliamentary election after its candidate from Syangja constituency No 2 Dhanraj Gurung won the election from the seat, officials said.

Gurung secured 31,466 votes against his nearest rival Padma Kumari Aryal of the CPN (UML) who bagged 25,839 votes, the Election Commission officials said.

With this the Nepali Congress (NC) tally has risen to 57 in the House of Representatives (HoR) under direct election followed by CPN-UML, which has won 44 seats so far.