SC sets up seven-judge bench to reconsider 1998 verdict granting immunity from prosecution to MPs/MLAs

Updated: Sep 26 2023 5:17AM

New Delhi, Sep 25 (PTI) A seven-judge bench of the Supreme Court, headed by Chief Justice D Y Chandrachud, will reconsider the apex court's 1998 verdict granting MPs and MLAs immunity from prosecution for taking bribe to make a speech or vote in Parliament and state legislatures.

A notice, uploaded on the apex court website, said the bench will hear the matter on October 4.

"Constitution Bench comprising the Chief Justice of India, Justice A S Bopanna, Justice M M Sundresh, Justice Pamidighantam Sri Narasimha, Justice J B Pardiwala, Justice Sanjay Kumar and Justice Manoj Misra is constituted to hear criminal appeal no. 451/2019 titled Sita Soren vs Union of India on October 4 (Wednesday)," the notice said.