11 states/Union Territories have no functional eye banks: RTI reply

Updated: Oct 4 2022 12:06PM

New Delhi, Oct 4 (PTI) Eleven states and Union Territories, including Goa and Jammu and Kashmir, have no functional eye banks, according to official data.

Doctors, however, underlined that such banks alone don't serve the purpose as there is an increased demand for eye donors especially in view of the COVID-19 pandemic which exacerbated the situation.

According to the response to an RTI application filed by Madhya Pradesh-based activist Chandra Shekhar Gaur, there are a total of 320 functional eye banks in the country.