Bypolls: SP set to retain Mainpuri, BJP wrests assembly seat in Bihar from ruling alliance

Updated: Dec 8 2022 3:42PM

New Delhi/Lucknow, Dec 8 (PTI) The Samajwadi Party was all set to retain the Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat while the BJP wrested the Kurhani assembly seat in Bihar on Thursday, dealing a blow to the Nitish Kumar-led ruling grand alliance in the state, as counting of votes was underway for the December 5 by-elections.

Congress' Savitri Mandavi was leading in the Bhanupratappur Assembly seat in Chhattisgarh and Anil Kumar was ahead in the Sardarshahar Assembly seat in Rajasthan's Churu district. Both the seats were held by the ruling Congress in the two states.

In Uttar Pradesh, the RLD and the BJP were ahead in Khatauli and Rampur Sadar assembly seats respectively, while the BJD was leading in the Padampur assembly seat in Odisha’s Bargarh district.