AIFF elections: Subrata Dutta, Larsing Ming's nominations rejected by returning officer

Updated: Aug 13 2022 10:25PM

New Delhi, Aug 13 (PTI) Veteran administrators Subrata Dutta and Larsing Ming's nominations ahead of the All India Football Federation's (AIFF) elections have been rejected by the poll's returning officer, Umesh Sinha.

"Their nominations in AIFF electoral college from Indian Football Association (IFA) and Meghalaya FA have been rejected by the returning officer. They have both been disqualified for not fulfilling the qualification criteria," said an AIFF source about the two who have been in the AIFF executive committee for three terms, making them ineligible to contest for any post for the next fours, as per a clause in the National Sports Code.

The IFA had nominated its chairman Dutta, who has been the AIFF's senior vice-president during Praful Patel's reign, to the electoral college of the federation on Thursday.