Surya, Rahul lead India to eight-wicket win against Proteas

Updated: Sep 28 2022 10:24PM

Thiruvananthapuram, Sep 28 (PTI) Suryakumar Yadav (50 not out) and KL Rahiul (51 not out) hit unbeaten half-centuries to power India to an eight-wicket win against South Africa in the first T20 International, here on Wednesday.

Keshav Maharaj top-scored for South Africa with a 35-ball 41, while Aiden Markram and Wayne Parnell contributed 25 and 24 respectively as the visitors struggled due to some fine bowling from the Indians.

Arshdeep Singh was the pick of the Indian bowlers with figures of 3/32, while Deepak Chahar and Harshal Patel grabbed two wickets each.